Am I a Bad Dog Mom?

My husband often jokes that the reason I married him was so I could get a dog. While that’s mostly absurd, it was a huge perk of the deal. I decided many, many years ago that I wouldn’t get a dog until I got married. I wanted there to be two people available to help take care of the pup. I wanted to make sure he got enough attention and that if anything happened to me the dog wouldn’t be alone. Plus, I’ve always traveled for work and I hate boarding dogs for multiple reasons.

BoBaby

So when we got married I got a dog very (and I mean VERY) shortly after. It’s no secret that I’m absolutely obsessed with Bocephus. Stripes and I talk about him like he’s our baby, and we never run out of things to say about him. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to yell at Stripes for saying hi to the dog before me when he comes home. It’s a rush to greet Bo, and ask him about his day.

Bo Baby

But recently, Bo has been spending a lot of time alone. Between really long, very unpredictable work hours and long weeks of travel, blog events (love them!), Exhale classes (early mornings, bleh!) and catching up with friends over drinks and dinner, there hasn’t been as much time in the schedule for Bocephus as he deserves. And he deserves the world. There have been way too many days this month where I run home, walk him quickly, put food in his bowl and then run out the door. It makes him so.sad. I can see it and he doesn’t try to hide it. It’s terrible and breaks my heart.

IMG_2062

I love having a busy schedule and lots of things to do – but I feel like I’m letting my buddy down. Is it acceptable to have scheduled days with my dog? Sorry Kelly, can’t make this event, I promised Bo we would sniff EVERYTHING he wants to on the walk today, so that will take 3 hours. Do people do that? Do I skip a workout to spend more time with him? Cancel an important meeting because Bo has been home for more than 10 hours by himself?

I’m stuck. Don’t know what to do. Help?

One thought on “Am I a Bad Dog Mom?

  1. Crazy dog moms unite! Tucker so comes first with us! Luckily Andrew gets to work from home so I don’t have to worry about him being alone, but we used to both work out of home and Tucker was miserable. you could tell he was getting doggy depressed and it broke our heart so we signed him up for doggy day care (not after we interviewed all the places near us, we are VERY particular about his care). Only one out of 5 places we looked at met our qualifications so we gave it a go. BUT he ended up learning that it was OK to pee indoors if there was a competing scent and we immediately stopped his day care.

    I would suggest hiring a dog walker in the middle of the day to take him out for a while and then play with him in your house. Day cares can be really stressful on dogs (hence another reason we stopped).

    I think it’s definitely ok to skip workouts and events to spend time with your dog. It’s just practice for kids right? I’m such a softie for dogs, hence why I am working on putting our Dog and Blog event! Can’t leave our furry friends out of it!

    Cynthia
    Sensibly Sharp

    Like

Leave a Reply

