It’s Not Supposed to be Easy – Dare to NOT Compare in the Gym

This year I decided to be incredibly original and make (part of) my resolution to be more healthy and active – the bedrock being hitting the gym five times a week. This is a big departure from 2014 where I wore yoga pants five times a week, but did not actually partake in said yoga.

Meg in Lucy

Meg in lucy 2

Getting back in a more strenuous, committed fitness routine is really tough. I started my #RoadToFitness (restart) Journey back in December, motivated by the opportunity to join in complaining about how ANNOYING Jan 1 starters are. I mean, can you BELIEVE how crowded the gym is now? 😉 It hasn’t exactly been smooth sailing.

Lucy Lifts Weights

Being committed (for me) means holding the position the WHOLE time…not giving up 10 seconds before I’m supposed to. Picking up the heavier weights and maintaining the proper form, even when cheating would be a lot more comfortable. It also means sweating, having a really red face and looking like a hot ol’ mess, instead of brunch ready, after a sweat sesh. And it’s hard, because at the awesome gym I go to there are a lot of very, very in shape women who began their road to fitness in December (of 1996) and are kicking my ass without breaking a sweat. It’s easy to get wrapped up in comparisons – but I’m taking a new approach:

Get over it. Keep working hard.

Stretch in lucy

If I’m sweating it means I’m pushing myself, maybe they aren’t – or maybe their botox prevents sweat glands from forming on their foreheads (lucky.) If my legs are shaking two minutes into my barre work it means I’ve stuck the position and my form is on pointe (ballet humor.) Who cares if I look like a mess in the gym – It’s not a catwalk and the work will pay off and be visible under my six layers of clothes and blanket scarf. Plus I can eat more cheese dip and drink more beer– which makes looking like a fool worth it every time!

Beer in Lucy

How to you keep from getting gym envy? Or does it motivate you?

Meg is wearing: tank: lucy Studio Cami Racerback c/o lucy, shirt: Final Rep Long Sleeve c/o lucy, pants: Splits 59 tights similar here

One thought on “It’s Not Supposed to be Easy – Dare to NOT Compare in the Gym

Leave a Reply

