I’ll be…Not Home for Christmas?

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!! I absolutely LOVE the holidays. I start listening to Christmas carols the minute tradition allows (December 1 – because we have to wait until AFTER my brother’s birthday to start celebrating) and I’m chomping at the bit to get a Christmas tree the minute they start appearing in church parking lots.

My side of the family has a million Christmas traditions that begin way before Christmas Eve. Just to name a few:

  • My mom and I make special peanut butter cup cookies, and it’s my job to unwrap the candies and stick them in the cookies AS SOON as they come out of the oven.
  • My Dad reads us the Night Before Christmas in the exact same way (I absolutely love how he reads, and can anticipate where he pauses and when I’m supposed to chime in and read with him) on Christmas Eve.
  • My brother get’s to hang the “bad boy santa” ornament on the tree – which is literally an ornament showing an Angry santa shoving a bad little boy into his present bag…
  • I still leave Santa cookies and milk on the fireplace hearth and we coordinate hanging our stockings right before we go to bed on Christmas Eve.

Andy Christmas

(throwback photo)

This will be the first year I don’t spend Christmas with my side of the family, and the first year I don’t participate in those traditions. Barrett and I waited until we were married to spend Christmas together, which actually made it REALLY special when he came to my parents house for the first time and got to experience the fun!

Boy and his Dog

Mom and Me

Swinging in Delaware

B and P

(He is so handsome I can’t even stand it!!)

FavTurkeys

The Lineup

(My sister-in-law shot better than all the guys! #whoruntheworld?)

But that also means I’ve spent Christmas with my parents since I was born – never missing a single one. Until now…

When I told my mom how I was feeling she said that we will ALWAYS celebrate together, even when we aren’t together. Isn’t that nice? And then, as my mom always does, she jumped into action to save Christmas by still making sure I’m part of the traditions:

The decorations:

photo 1

The Christmas tree:

photo 2

(and yes, that is Anne Boleyn and Katherine of Aragon – we went through a Philippa Gregory phase)

The cookies:photo 3

And then…my wonderful mother-in-law surprised me by coming over and turning my house into a festive Christmas dream – complete with Spode table settings and candles in the windows! After coming home from a tough day at work it truly felt like a Christmas miracle, and I’ll never forget it!

Spode

How lucky am I to have such great family on my husband’s side, so Christmas will certainly be very special! And while it will be a very different year, I can’t wait to participate in all the Daws family traditions!

Kelly and I wish everyone a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS with friends and family, no matter where you are! 

And now, to leave you with a photo of my (parents) dog John Marshall. He’s hoping time has’t run out to get moved from Santa’s naughty list to the nice one…

Marshmellow

One thought on “I’ll be…Not Home for Christmas?

  1. Aww, Meg! I loved reading this post. My holidays haven’t been the same in several years, and it was tough the first few times, but I’ve loved developing traditions with my own teeny tiny family. It’s kind of fun to get to start things for yourself from scratch. I totally went through a Phillipa Gregory stage too! Her books are SO. GOOD. Also, your mother in law is the jam. What a kind gift! Hugs to you! Maybe I’ll see you around the hood over the next few days 🙂 ni

    Like

Leave a Reply

