Atlanta’s Favorite Holiday Tradition: Home for the Holidays

Don’t hate me for saying this, but I’m about 90% done with my Christmas shopping (and I wrote this post before Thanksgiving…). I didn’t want to feel stressed this year upon returning home from a relaxing Thanksgiving, realizing it is December 1st, and not having bought a single present. Gift giving should be fun and put you in the holiday spirit, but in the past it hasn’t been all tinsel and sparkles with me. I usually wait too long, end up getting overwhelmed, and then spend too much money on last minute shipping and gift wrapping.

wrapped gifts

This year, I promised myself I would enjoy the holiday season from the start, and cross off the majority of my list before December 1st. I am almost there and I can’t tell you the feeling of relief I have going into Thanksgiving week. (Why don’t I do this every year?!) Anyways, now that I don’t have to spend every waking moment shopping in early December, I am putting together my list of holiday activities around town and at home.

wreath on terrace

On a rainy Sunday before Thanksgiving, I got to cross the first event off of my list – the Atlanta Homes & Lifestyles Home for the Holidays. Each year, Atlanta’s leading design experts showcase their talents in a single showhouse. This year’s showhouse, located on top of a hill on Habersham Road, is inspired by the 1890s-1920s English Arts and Crafts style of Sir Edwin Lutyens. (If you’ve seen this house being built over the last year on Habersham, you must go inside to see it in all its glory!) The house was designed by Harrison Design Associates and built by Sheehan Built homes.

kelly and kathryn

Kathryn and I took a ladies-only (sorry Elizabeth!) date to see the house.

 

I have no words for the home, except, when can I move in?! (It is currently for sale!) I loved walking through all the different designers’ rooms and seeing how their styles complemented one another, but were still very distinct. My favorites were probably the outdoor terrace on the first floor, and the blue bedroom on the second floor. The ceiling in the formal dining room was beyond, and I liked each light fixture more than the last. The ceilings were giant-size, so the light fixtures were bold and oversized to fit the spaces perfectly. I will let the pictures do the talking though 🙂

formal living room

Upon entering, this was our first room to tour – the formal living room.

outdoor fireplace

Fireplace on outdoor terrace

outdoor center piece

Centerpiece on outdoor terrace

copper tablescape

Copper and blue place setting on outdoor terrace

fridge

The floor-to-ceiling fridge was a work of art!

laundry room

The laundry room was bigger than my whole downstairs…

living room

Cozy living room off of the kitchen.

dining room tablescape

Amazing centerpiece of painted oversized greenery in the dining room.

dining room ceiling

#thatceilingthough….in the dining room

master 2

We headed upstairs to see the bedrooms – this was the master, with a supple leather bed!

furry pillow bedroom

Opposite the bed – the fluffiest fur pillow roll I’ve ever seen.

women's closet

This is just half of the lady of the house’s closet.

fireplace bookcase

A unique display of books in the fireplace of the study – and that wallpaper!

display of bourbon

Bourbon in the study? But of course!

blue room

My FAVORITE – the Blue Room.

bonus room

About the hippest bonus room I’ve ever seen! Yes, that is black paint on the walls.

Olivia and Jake came to dinner :)

Olivia and Jake came to dinner 🙂

jake ballard

It didn’t take long to get in the holiday spirit after walking through the house with Christmas decorations at every turn. I can’t wait to make this an annual pre-Thanksgiving tradition!

glitter boxes

If you already have tickets to go, don’t worry, there is MUCH and MORE to see aside from my pics 🙂 The house is only open Wednesdays through Sundays until December 7th, so act fast if you want to see it this holiday season! Ticket sales benefit the Southeastern Horticultural Society’s Children’s Learning Gardens and Farms. Tickets are $25 and you can get them here.

**The lovely ladies of The Reynolds Group hooked us up with a special preview of the house, but all reviews are always our own – I mean, the house speaks for itself really!!**

We’re linking up with 2 Cats And Chloe, and J at Bless Her Heart Y’all for the #Celebrate Southern Link-up!

Bless Her Heart Y'all
10 thoughts on “Atlanta’s Favorite Holiday Tradition: Home for the Holidays

  1. Wow! That house, there are no words! Looks like you had so much fun! And kudos to you for getting all your shopping done already.. My fiance just got me his list last night.. after all the cyber monday sales ended.. and so I still have a lot of shopping to do! So basically what you’re saying is that you both, and all of us local atlanta bloggers should go in on this house buy it, and all live together?! Lol!

    Cynthia
    Sensibly Sharp
    Find me at : bloglovin’ | facebook | instagram

    Liked by 1 person

    • There really are no words for the house! Don’t you love when that happens?! The only person I have left is my husband and he won’t even tell me what he wants, so at least you have a list 🙂 I am game for going in on the house – there are plenty of rooms to go around – haha!!

      Like

  2. I love that you have most of your shopping done! SO DO I! 🙂 Gotta love it right?! And OMG this place is stunning!! I need to move to your part of the country – seems like there are always a bunch of amazing things happening! 🙂 Pinning this now! Thanks for joining the celebrate southern linkup!! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

