Celebrating 3 Years with Biplanes and Bacchanalia

First of all – WOW – I can’t believe we’ve been married for 3 whole years! My, time really does fly when you’re having fun 🙂 (And, yes our anniversary was in July, so I’m a little late to the blog with this post!)

kelly brian wedding

When I think back on our first 3 years of marriage, so much has changed, yet so much has stayed the same (to use a clichéd phrase). Between moving back to Atlanta, new jobs, a new dog, and so much more – this last year has been a whirlwind, but in a good way. More on that whirlwind another day 🙂 Here is how we celebrated 3 years of wedded bliss….

Last year, we spent our anniversary wining and dining around NYC – obviously we couldn’t wait to get back up there shortly after relocating! With lots of travel already this year, and more to come this fall, we decided to stay in town and treat ourselves to a fancy meal at Bacchanalia. This place had been on my list FOR YEARS, so it was finally time to experience what most would agree is the finest (read most expensive) restaurant in Atlanta.

nyc anniversary

In addition to a night out, I had been brainstorming an outing for Brian as a gift. I wanted to find something we could do together the weekend of our anniversary, but that I could still surprise him with day-of. There weren’t any sporting events, concerts, etc. that really caught my eye, and I didn’t really want to do a day trip anywhere.

Then one day we were at Bobby Jones (Brian was playing golf and I was along for the late afternoon golf cart ride to drink summer shandies and be a supportive wife), and we saw this bright yellow airplane flying pretty low over the course. We both commented that it looked pretty neat, and I tucked the thought away to Google later. A quick Google search and I found the website for Biplane Rides Over Atlanta – BOOM, outing problem solved. I put in a request for information and within a couple days I had reserved a biplane ride for 2. [Side note: Should you be interested in reserving your own biplane ride in the future, be sure to check out the local deal sites, because I later found out there was a Groupon for the ride, which could have saved me some $$$!]

plane ride

I ended up keeping the ride a surprise until the 11th hour. I was trying to come up with a way to stealthily get Brian to the Dekalb-Peachtree Airport a couple hours before dinner, but I am a bad liar and ended up telling him I had a surprise planned before dinner. That guy asks A LOT of questions, and we barely made it there with me not giving it away. I also told him to dress nicely because I had also planned for the lovely Larissa to come take some photos (an anniversary present to myself, thankyouverymuch!) In hindsight, it was really hot in the plane and I probably should have suggested we bring more casual clothes to change into post-photo shoot, but we looked cute! DSC_5809-(ZF-1483-13200-1-010)

DSC_5739-(ZF-1483-13200-1-006)

DSC_5843-(ZF-1483-13200-1-001) DSC_5865-(ZF-1483-13200-1-014) DSC_5919-2-(ZF-1483-13200-1-017)

Despite the late July heat, our ride was awesome! We sat right up front and took in the view as we flew over Atlanta and back again. I HATE heights, so I was a little nervous about how I was going to handle an open-air biplane. You end up sitting very deep in the plane cabin, so unless you are standing up in your seat making a strong attempt to get out, you aren’t getting out of that thing. I couldn’t even peek my head all the way over the side of the plane, because I was restrained in the seat belt, so all was good. I thought the captain was joking when he made us put on the WWII-looking masks, but they kept buggies from flying in our eyes and my hair from getting crazy-tangled in the wind, so in the end they were well worth it (and made for a good pic).

DSC_0249

Stone Mountain

DSC_0244

Pinnacle building in Buckhead

DSC_0243

Intersection of Piedmont and Peachtree in Buckhead

DSC_0240

Buckhead

DSC_0218

Midtown

DSC_0199

Downtown

DSC_0189

Turner Field

DSC_0165biplane back

After our 20-minute ride, we high-tailed it from the DeKalb-Peachtree Airport on down to Bacchanlia on the westside. We made a quick pit stop at home to grab our special bottle of bubbly, which was chilling on ice, to enjoy at the restaurant. Bacchanalia most definitely stands up to its reputation of exquisite service and the finest in fine dining that Atlanta has to offer. I wanted to try every last thing on the tasting menu, but alas, I could only pick 5. Of course we strategically ordered so that we could at least try as much as possible for our $85/pp meal, each ordering different things. Here are a few iPhone pictures of our meal if you’re interested!  Cheers to 3 years!

bacchanalia sign

bacchanalia champagne bacchanalia menu

bacchanalia collage

**If you have ANY interest in the biplane ride, send me a message and I can give you all the deets – I highly recommend Biplane Rides Over Atlanta!

2 thoughts on “Celebrating 3 Years with Biplanes and Bacchanalia

  1. Kelly, I love EVERYTHING about this. First of all, what a fantastic idea to do the biplane ride. I’ve been in one once before, but it was a long time ago. I would love to revisit. And the anniversary pictures are incredible. I love the idea of using the plane almost as a prop, and you both look stunning. You win wife of the year award for sure!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

