Making Our House a Place we Love to Live

Image

One of the things I love most about being married to Stripes is that, although we’ve been together for almost 5 years (WHAT?!!?), he still manages to surprise me – and I think he always will! He has an unexpected depth about him, and will say the most profound things at unexpected times. Other times it’s like pulling teeth to get him to say ANYTHING – especially in the morning before he has a cup of coffee. So imagine my surprise when this past weekend he popped out of bed and said “I want us to be more responsible and I want to focus more on making our house a place we love to live.” I stopped in my tracks and I swear I was in shock for a couple minutes. Well okay, then! Let’s do this!

We bought our home before we got married and he lived there for several months by himself after he graduated from grad school and I joined him when I officially became a Mrs. We put a lot of thought and care into the house (decorating, adding personal touches, etc) when we moved in – and we were lucky enough to collect and purchase enough items to furnish the house in its entirety within a couple months. But since then, we haven’t done much to it. Living in a super old home means a ton of repair and maintenance, but we haven’t proactively done much because we’re not handy. And I mean, NOT handy. Stripes always tells me his idea of a DIY project is signing the check, which is completely opposite from the way I grew up.

Image

(That’s my dad driving his bobcat!)

Image

Image

(My mom is building a rock wall – DIY at it’s finest!)

Image

(Bocephus has no idea what that box is and is clearly suspicious. Tools? Never heard of them…)

My dad can fix or build ANYTHING. He can do it all – electrical, plumbing, tear down walls, build walls, paint, install patios, tile…I could go on and on. I grew up thinking that’s just the way it was – all dads can build homes from the ground up and enjoy doing it! But Stripes is more of a numbers guy than a Mr. fix-it – which is totally fine – it just means any project we tackle requires a handyman….UNTIL NOW.

Image

Enter the Waterpik SprayShapera new professional grade shower head we INSTALLED OURSELVES that has recently transformed our guest bathroom. You read that right, we successfully took on our first DIY project and it was a breeze. Our guest bathroom is so charming – it still has the original iron tub and black & white porcelain hexagon mosaic tile. But let me tell you – the old shower head in there…not so charming. It was time for an upgrade.

Image

The SprayShaper allows for a completely customizable experience because it has moveable panels. You simply move the panels inward to shape the spray to a concentrated blast or for a total body experience, simply move outward, or up and down. Plus, it features OptiFLOW technology for up to 30% more water force – so the water pressure is awesome.

But the BEST part of the SprayShaper is that it’s VERY easy to install and takes about 5 minutes – no plumber or special tools needed. In fact, it was SO easy Stripes did the install with a beer in his hand – which gives a new definition to the shower beer, right?

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

It was a small but mighty step to making this home a place we love to live – and we are super energized to start taking on more DIY projects in the future!

This sprayer is available exclusively at The Home Depot. We absolutely love it and highly recommend it!

We were compensated for this post, which is great, but the real story here is that Stripes rolled up his sleeves and knocked out this project in 5 minutes. I even got a text from my parents letting us know how proud they were. So while I didn’t have to pay for this show head – in many ways its priceless 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

