Grow Old Along With Me – The Best is Yet to Be

Image

When I was growing up my mom had a sundial in the garden that had read “grow old along with me, the best is yet to be” – a quote from the British poet Robert Browning. I LOVED that sundial, and the quote has always stuck in my mind because at first I thought it was a little morbid. Why would you want to think about getting old all the time? Even if it is with someone you love? And furthermore, why have a depressing quote carved into stone in your garden? Regardless, I loved it (still do) and finally, after being married to Stripes for two years, I get it. It’s not about growing old and wrinkly – it’s about growing old together. I also understand that when you find someone you love as much as I love him, someone you want to grow old with, it feels like a privilege and an adventure.

These two years with him have been the most wonderful I’ve ever experienced and I know, without a doubt, the best is yet to be.

Marriage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Big thanks to Kelly for holding down the blog while Stripes and I hit the beaches of Bermuda for our two year anniversary! Below is a snapshot of our trip (our romantic al fresco anniversary dinner Stripes planned) – but standby for additional posts about our fantastic trip. You’ll be booking your flight to this amazing island in no time.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Gosh I love that sundial.

Leave a Reply

