Planking at Intown Pilates: Road to Fitness, Chapter 17

When I first mentioned to one of my colleagues that Meg and I have been trying out different gyms and workouts all over Atlanta, she said that I MUST try one of her classes at Intown Pilates. I finally made it over to see her a couple weeks ago for a Pilates Sculpt class.

Peachtree Roadies Intown Pilates

I first started really getting into Pilates when I was living in NYC. I tried out a bunch of places (usually via Groupon or Gilt City deals) and I loved that I could get a great workout in an hour-long class, while building long, lean muscles (not those bulky things), and not leaving completely drenched in sweat. I’ve never been a big yoga person, but Pilates quickly became my jam.

Peachtree Roadies Intown Pilates

Lately, I have been leaning towards the barre class trend as seen here, here and here, so I was excited to get back to the Pilates basics. The studio is located in the Amsterdam Walk shopping center, so very convenient to those living in Morningside, ViHi and Midtown. While their group class schedule isn’t the most robust, I was able to make it to the 6 pm weekday class with no trouble. However, traffic was a bear getting over there at that time of day (shocking for Atl, I know!). They also offer options for private sessions if that is your cup of tea.

Peachtree Roadies Intown Pilates

Ellen, the studio owner is super nice and gave me a tour of the space when I arrived and made sure I had everything I needed. The studio first opened its doors six years ago and has won a few local awards ever since! They have all the latest Pilates apparatus (or apparati?), including the Reformer, Trapeze Table (aka “Cadillac”), Wunda Chair, LadderBarrel, Tower and more, so you’re sure to try something new with each workout.

Peachtree Roadies Intown Pilates

Their membership/pricing structure is a little different from most. You pay $100 per year to become a member, then you get a 15% discount on your class packages, so overall very reasonably priced.

If you haven’t ever taken a Pilates class, your best bet is to take a private lesson first to get the basics down before trying out a group class. I LOVED the mats they have there. They are about a couple of inches thick with lots of padding – no flimsy mats here – which were very comfortable on my low back. The room is set up like stations with the mat and a basket filled with all the gear (bands, balls, etc.) you may need. In the Pilates Sculpt class I took, we used the ball, a variety of bands, and the big wooden thing (not sure what it’s called…).

Peachtree Roadies Intown Pilates

I also found it interesting that there was no music in the class. Everywhere we’ve been lately is very music-driven. It was kind of refreshing to really hear your breath and get in tune with the body. I felt that I was able to really focus on the work at hand and not the next song coming on.

My co-worker was an AWESOME teacher and you can tell she’s been teaching for a long time – she knows her stuff! She is incredibly upbeat and checked in on everyone throughout class to make sure we were following along with her and nothing was hurting (too much). I look forward to going back when she’s teaching a Tower class as I’ve never taken one before – I hear it’s tough. All of their trainers are thoroughly trained and certified in Pilates, which is critical for any sort of exercise.

Peachtree Roadies Intown Pilates

Location: 6 (A little further for us Buckhead-ites, but perfect location for Morningside and ViHi.)

Instructor: 10 (She was awesome and taught the class with a contagious smile J)

Workout: 8 (I was very sore the next day and during class I could really feel my muscles going into overdrive.)

Ambiance: 8 (The high ceilings with exposed lighting and beams gave it a great industrial and spacious feel. They even have a little basket of mints, hand sanitizer and lotion near the cubbies where you put your stuff.)

20140611-154348-56628943.jpg

Leave a Reply

