Best Beach House In ATL – Ketch My Drift?

Image

Have you ever heard of the fish orange roughy? It also goes by the name slimehead (yuck…) or deep sea perch, Hoplostethus atlanticus. Ring a bell? No? When I was really little I LOVED orange roughy. It wasn’t that surprising because my parents are huge seafood eaters and exposed us to tons of different types of food. But as I grew older and more difficult I went from being a seafood lover to a  seafood skeptic (unless it was fried walleye that my dad made at home – that was the only exception.) I was so passionate about my dislike for seafood that I once refused to get out of the car at a nice lobster restaurant in Maine and cried (like…balled my eyes out) for hours while they enjoyed their dinner. I mean, we were in MAINE for goodness sake. I wish I was kidding. I’m not. I don’t blame my parents and brother at all for putting on a bib and pretending not to know who the screaming child in the car belonged to. I’m sure they cracked the car window for me… 

I’ve grown up a bit since then and really enjoy going out for seafood! And luckily, I live by the the spot with Buckhead’s best grouper sandwich and an awesome patio – which in the summer is definitely something to write home about. In fact, I am writing home about it – The Big Ketch Saltwater Grill – (Mom? Dad? Are you listening? Sorry about the lobster…)

Image

Image

Image

Kelly and I were super excited when they launched their new spring menu. We are both huge fans of their appetizers, and they added some must-tries like crispy ahi tuna rolls and coconut fried shrimp (pictured below.) The shrimp was amazing. I almost stabbed Kelly with my fork trying to steal the last one from her (#yolo.) But honestly I adore anything I can slather in the mango sweet chili sauce. I wonder if they sell that by the gallon?

Also, since I know you are all wondering, they did leave orange roughy off the menu. I forgot to grab a comment card on my way out. But everything was SO GOOD I guess I’m going to have to forgive them for this oversight.

Image

Image

Image

Image

The scallops were also AMAZING! Kelly and I split them along with a lobsta roll (DELISH! The lobster didn’t even need the butter sauce!), cheese grits and hush puppies. Everything was so fresh and flavorful – we had a hard time deciding which dish we liked the best. Clearly we didn’t leave hungry.

Image

Image

Not pictured: The key lime pie. But how do you take pictures of something SO GOOD it’s gone in less than 60 seconds? Well, you don’t.

By the way, I’m going back for the lobster linguine in a citrus buerre blanc. See you there? Can’t wait.

The Roadies had their meal comped, and they even offered to roll us out of there like beached whales after splurging on too many pieces of key lime pie. Talk about service. #worthit (oh yea, thoughts are all ours. We don’t shell-out. Get it?)

Image

 

Leave a Reply

