Living the UP Lifestyle – Jawbone Addict

I’m seriously shocked I haven’t written about my Jawbone UP until now – but I guess that’s because I’m so used to wearing my favorite blue band it hardly seems noteworthy. Ohhhhh but it is. In fact, I probably owe my #roadtofitness and renewed interest in health to this silly band.

Image from the-gadgeteer.com

I’ve been “living UP” since April 29, 2013 – and except for a couple months last year when I felt like it was judging me too much (don’t ask) – haven’t taken it off for more than a couple hours at a time. I’ve worn this obnoxiously bright band to tons of functions I probably shouldn’t have – you name it, I’ve worn it. Weddings, church, black tie events – its my favorite accessory that goes with everything and matches nothing. I mean, it’s made of medical-grade, hypoallergenic rubber. Not exactly subtle. Plus it zaps me vibrates when I’ve been idle for more than 45 minutes to tell me get up and get moving – a feature I absolutely adore – but again, not subtle.

Image

But how can you expect me to leave the band at home when I need to clock 10,000 steps each and every day? It’s harder than you might think. In fact, according to this smart little sucker, I’ve walked across Europe, from Brussels to the tip of the Italian boot, since I started wearing it. Pretty cool eh?

I got the band for two reasons – to make myself aware of how little I move during the day and to help motivate me to get my butt in gear and be more active. I didn’t expect the first reason to serve as such shock therapy – but holy cow did it ever. If I told you how FEW steps I was moving during the day you would be shocked all my muscles hadn’t atrophied. At the time I didn’t have a lot of balance in my life, and I was putting things like my job before my health and my happiness. It sounds dramatic – but the Jawbone was a very important first step in realizing I wasn’t living the way I wanted to.

Image

But this band is more than a fancy pedometer. It also tracks my sleep, which is one of the coolest things ever! The app lets me know what time I hit the sheets, how long it took me to fall asleep, how long I stayed asleep and how many times (and when) I woke up during the night. I was skeptical at first, but now I’m a believer! Jawbone UP has taught me a lot about how I operate and what my body needs to be at its best (which is at least eight hours of sleep – and hardly ever happens. So there’s that.)

Image

So, how does it do it? Who knows. I try not to worry about how the magic happens – it just does. But according to the website they combine a “precision motion sensor and powerful algorithms to passively track and quantify your steps, distance, calories, active time, and idle time.” Plus “actigraphy to track your sleep, monitoring your micro movements to determine whether you are awake or asleep.” So yea, it just happens.

The app itself is also pretty awesome. To sync my Jawbone with the app I just plug the band into my iPhone via the headphone socket. Easy peasey. The user interface is simple and colorful – Large chevrons point towards your daily goals and have streamers when you reach them – which doesn’t seem like a big deal, but I work hard for those streamers!

I would (and do) recommend a Jawbone to anyone who is looking to be more aware of their health or make a change. It’s a very powerful tool and only requires a minimal investment ($99 – and the app is free!)

Jawbone didn’t pay us for this post, but I’m grateful to them anyway!

5 thoughts on “Living the UP Lifestyle – Jawbone Addict

  1. Pingback: TORY BURCH FOR FITBIT!! (Move, Jawbone, Get Out the Way!) | Peachtree Roadies

Leave a Reply

