Where Barre Began: Pure Barre (Road to Fitness, Chapter 9)

On our #roadtofitness, we’ve been trying all sorts of new-fangled workouts to see for what will really work for us in the long run. Some have been amazing and some have been notsogreat. A couple of weeks ago we decided to get #backtothebasics, and I made a visit to the class that started the whole barre-craze: Pure Barre in Buckhead.

Peachtree Roadies Pure Barre

Buckhead studio

Pure Barre has been around for nearly a decade which is a long time for workout fads, so they must be doing something right. In Georgia alone, they have nine studios with four more on the way.

The classes are 55 minutes and according to their website: you will achieve a full-body workout concentrating on the areas women struggle with the most: hips, thighs, seat, abdominals and arms. The Pure Barre technique is low-impact, protecting your joints by avoiding any bouncing or jumping. Each strength section of the workout is followed by a stretching section in order to create long, lean muscles without bulk. The technique works to defy gravity by tapering everything in and lifting it up!

I walked into the Buckhead studio about 15 minutes prior to class (since I was a first-timer) and was greeted by a very friendly woman who checked me in and had me fill out the waiver. The waiting room out front is tiny, and I scoped out the other class-goers (mostly stick-thin young Buckhead-ites) while we waited to go in. The room is carpeted and really isn’t much to look at to be honest. It reminds me of a sad-looking corporate office, but with a big mirror and barre around the side. You can’t wear your shoes inside, so you walk in barefoot and put all your stuff in these little cubbies in the back. Then I took everyone else’s lead and picked up ball, weights and band and claimed a spot on the floor.

Peachtree Roadies Pure Barre

The class really filled up and we were packed in there like a can of sardines, which led to me constantly knocking into the gals around me. We started out easy enough with some stretches, and then went into floor work, followed by barre work, followed by abs on the mat to end the class. As I looked around trying to catch onto the sequence of activities, it seemed like a lot of the girls knew exactly what was coming next, which leads me to believe there isn’t a lot of variety to the classes. I mean, if you’re able to memorize the exact sequence of the workout, it probably doesn’t change very much.

Peachtree Roadies Pure Barre

Also, can someone please explain to me what exactly “tucking” is?? I was SO confused the whole class, because the instructor kept telling us to tuck, but it wasn’t very obvious to me what this entailed exactly…After the class, I did a bit more research and learned that the whole concept behind Pure Barre is to make very small, precise movements. I totally should have watched this video before the class.

The best part of the class was that I didn’t sweat a drop. Maybe I didn’t push myself as hard as I should have, but I was definitely sore for the next couple days, so something worked! I tend to equate sweating with a successful workout, but with Pure Barre, it is supposed to be low-impact, so no perspiring required!

Pricing is pretty comparable to other barre classes we’ve tried and they have lots of different pricing options depending on your needs. They are currently running a special for first-timers, $100 a month for unlimited classes! This is a great deal, especially if you can go 3-4 times per week. They don’t give you the first class for free like some of the other places around town (grrrr), but your first class is discounted to $15 (a single class is $23).

Location: 8 (In the Café Pharr strip mall on Peachtree, parking seems to be adequate, at least in the evenings when the other shops are closed.)

Instructor: 5 (She was a little robotic with her delivery of the class, so not my favorite, but I have heard all the instructors are kind of that way.)

Workout: 7 (It’s a great barre workout (since most of the classes we do are really only partially barre), so coupled with a more intense cardio workout routine (say FlyWheel) it could work. And I do like the fact that I could walk out of the class and head straight to dinner or drinks afterwards with no shower needed.)

Ambiance: 4 (Did not like the room at all compared to some of the prettier studios we’ve been too like Exhale and West Coast)

We still have a few other barre studios to try before making a definitive choice to head back to Pure Barre, but it’s in the running 🙂

–Kelly

2 thoughts on “Where Barre Began: Pure Barre (Road to Fitness, Chapter 9)

  1. Oh man, I went to my first class at Pink Barre on Saturday and I’m STILL so. sore. I thought it was a great workout but also had no clue about the tuck..?!?! I generally hate class workouts but I might actually do this one again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

