Getting Saucy in Atlanta – BBQ and Moonshine on a School Night

Image

One of my favorite things about life Atlanta is the FOOD! We have amazing BBQ down here in the dirty dirty, and one of my all time favorite places to go is DBA Barbeque in ViHi. The chicken nachos are my happy place, and if I ever need to turn Stripe’s frown upside down I put a plate of their pulled pork and brunswick stew in front of him. Happy as a clam.

Another thing I love about Atlanta is that most social events revolve around food – girls night, business meetings and especially DATE NIGHT! Stripes and I are always looking for fun new things to do together, so when we got invited to experience DBA’s new sauce making class I said “SIGN US UP!” Of course Stripes couldn’t come (his work schedule doesn’t allow for weekday date nights) so I tagged along with my good friends Trey and Amanda (third wheel, yo!)

Image

We had the BEST time! DBA owner and barbeque wunderkind, Matt Coggin, hosted all of us on his awesome patio, which is one of the best in the city. He walked our group through the ins and outs of regional flavors (a very hot topic), discussed how various ingredients affect overall taste, the difference between vinegar and tomato-based sauces and tricks and tips for cooking meats. I felt like I was getting a bunch of insider information – and can’t wait to try it at home come back to DBA and sound like a total foodie in front of my friends.

And because I like you guys so much I’m going to share the secret ingredient DBA uses in their sauce: unicorn tears. Yep, I heard it from Matt himself. You’re welcome.

Image

Image

Once my amazing BBQ sauce creation was complete D.B.A. team members bottled it up so I could take it home and share it with Stripes. He’s actually so excited to use it we’ve already made plans to make our favorite pulled pork recipe (thanks Chelsea H!) this weekend.

And let’s be real, one of my favorite parts of the night was the ‘SHINE! We got to wash down the BBQ with a flight of three different Junior Johnson Midnight Moon moonshines and a Four Roses Bourbon. Plus we got a couple awesome moonshine cocktails at the start to get our creative juices flowing.

Image

Image

Classes are offered on the last Wednesday of every month, and you better believe I will be a a regular. I highly recommend this event as a super fun date night, a reason to drink moonshine on Wednesday and an awesome way to expand your BBQ horizons. See you at DBA!

Cheat Sheet:

Upcoming sauce making classes include:

  • Wednesday, April 30, 2014, 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 28, 2014, 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 25, 2014, 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 30, 2014, 7 p.m.

WHERE:  
D.B.A. Barbecue
1190 N. Highland Ave NE Suite B
Atlanta, GA 30306

COST:
$50 for one person, $90 for two and $170 for a group of four.

Image

We were invited to attend this event for free, but we can’t wait to go back and try this class again. You can never have too much BBQ sauce!

Leave a Reply

