Branching Out from The Usual – The HH Alternative

Peachtree Roadies_Mezcalitos

I don’t need to tell you guys how much I love a good Happy Hour. Kelly and I consider ourselves HH connoisseurs and are committed to the cause of keeping Atlanta’s economy healthy, especially during the hours after the workday. However, recently I’ve made a dedicated effort to expand my activity horizons with my friends. This isn’t to say I don’t partake in my fair share of after work dinners and drinks – I’m just trying to mix it up. It isn’t always easy to convince myself to be active when the weather is nasty. Rain and cold temps are my health kryptonite. But now that the weather is FINALLY starting to warm up I’m going to be very accountable to this goal.

Below are some of my favorite ways to spend an evening. Let me know if you have any suggestions for fun ways to meetup with friends and shake the work stink off of ya 🙂

Bocephus (my pup) has also greatly benefited from this lifestyle change considering most of my activities are dog friendly. Kelly and I try and meet up as often as we can to walk the dogs around our neighborhoods. A brisk five mile walk can really improve my mood and makes it much easier for me to relax and get a restful night of beauty sleep.

Peachtree Roadies_Mt. Arabia

Trying new workout classes with my buddies is one of my all-time favorite ways to catch-up. There’s nothing like doing something great for your body and your social life all at the same time 🙂 It also encourages me to try out gyms in different parts of ATL since my girlfriends live all over this great city.

Peachtree Roadies_Ballet Bootcamp

Events! Although my work schedule can be pretty unpredictable, I always love sending in an RSVP for a fun event around town with my friends. These can be tricky, because most of the time they involve cocktails and heavy apps (not always a great decision) but it’s better than sitting on my butt.

Peachtree Roadies_Events

Manis and pedis! It’s sandal season – and my toes are begging for a scrub and a polish. Although this activity isn’t the most active option – pedicures are great for leg and foot circulation (something I struggle with) and are a great treat after a long workday.

Grocery shopping. Sounds weird, right? It kind of is. But, I acutally love grocery shopping under the right circumstances. I can’t be rushed, hungry or stressed. So, as you might imagine, that doesn’t happen TOO often – but when it does, grocery shopping can be like therapy for me. Give me a Whole Paycheck Foods or Fresh Market and I’m a happy camper (I’m normally a Publix/Korger girl – so these stores are a treat.) I love walking through the aisles getting tips from my girlfriends on what they buy and prepare for their families – it can really inspire healthy eating or calorie splurges that are more than worth it.

–Meg

One thought on “Branching Out from The Usual – The HH Alternative

Leave a Reply

