Roadie Roundup: Pantone Color of the Year: “Radiant Orchid” (Meh)

Confession: I’m a sucker for the Pantone Color of the Year. For Christmas last year my list for Santa came straight from the Real Simple (love!) Pantone emerald green product roundup. Those shoes are still one of my favorite holiday gifts of all time! (sold out, but here is a similar pair: bit.ly/1f1SDPG)

And although I’m almost two months late delivering the news here, the Pantone color for this year has never been far from my mind (acceptable blogger exaggeration?) Introducing: RADIANT ORCHID!! I’m torn. I’ve never been a huge purple fan. Light shades, dark shades, you name it. I’m just not a fan. Every time I go to the makeup counter at the mall they try and convince me that I need to use purple eyeliner AND purple eyeshadow to make my swampy green eyes “pop.” No. Dior, stop trying to make purple happen. HOWEVER – I’m not completely heartless. I do see some merit in purple.

According to Pantone, “Radiant Orchid inspires confidence and emanates great joy, love and health. It is a captivating purple, one that draws you in with its beguiling charm.” Mmmkay. Anyway, it just looks like pain ol’ purple to me. I won’t be reupholstering my couch or painting my walls anytime soon, but I may throw in an accessory here or there.

Below is a #RoadieRoundup of purple products that might strike your fancy! Let me know what you think!

Image

Free People Dress – Andrina’s (brunch with the girls?)

Image

Haute House Chair, Horchow, $2,459 (I make an exception for this couch. swoon!)

Image

Photo and Recipe from A Beautiful Mess

Triple Berry Smoothie from A Beautiful Mess – YUM!

Image

The North Face Women’s Jessie Jacket (looks comfy!)

Warby

Warby Parker – Ainsworth (touch of hipster?)

Image

Jcrew Merino Tippi cardigan (I have it in every other color – so why not?)

purple_haze_group

Abita Purple Haze is a lager brewed with raspberries added after filtration. Is it Happy Hour yet?

Image

Kate Spade Blakely Dress (not exactly the right shade – but I couldn’t leave this one out!)

Zoku

Zoku Quick Pop Maker (who doesn’t love popsicles?)

Leave a Reply

